WMU’s Terrell, ECU’s Jones and CMU’s Rush headline Campbell finalists


NFF CHOF Logo Centered - 3 10 14In a potentially historic season for the Broncos, Western Michigan quarterback Zach Terrell can add another label next to “leader of one of only five undefeated teams” – William V. Campbell Trophy finalist.

On Tuesday Terrell, along with fellow ASN-affiliated athletes Zay Jones of East Carolina and Cooper Rush of Central Michigan were named as part of the 12 finalists for the award called the academic Heisman.

With the announcement of finalist status, the 12 student-athletes are awarded $18,000 postgraduate scholarships. One winner – to be announced Dec. 6 at the National Football Foundation annual banquet – will have his scholarship increased to $25,000.

“We are extremely proud to announce this year’s finalists for the Campbell Trophy, who make up the National Scholar-Athlete Class,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “These young men have an unrelenting commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives, and they represent all that is right in college football. They serve as living examples of our mission of Building Leaders Through Football, and we are excited to honor their hard work and accomplishments with postgraduate scholarships.”


Scholar-Athlete Position School GPA Major
Chris Beaschler LB Dayton 3.72 Mechanical Engineering
Tim Crawley WR San Jose State 3.78 Business Management
DeVon Edwards S Duke 3.35 Psychology
Brooks Ellis LB Arkansas 3.82 Exercise Science
Carter Hanson LB Saint John’s (Minn.) 4.00 Business Leadership
Taysom Hill QB BYU 3.45 Finance
Ryan Janvion S Wake Forest 3.53 Business Management
Zay Jones WR East Carolina 3.56 Communications
Cooper Rush QB Central Michigan 3.86 Actuarial Science
Karter Schult DL Northern Iowa 3.87 Exercise Science
Tyler Sullivan QB Delta State (Miss.) 3.68 Biology
Zach Terrell QB Western Michigan 3.66 Finance
2016 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Highlights
  • 3.69 Average GPA
  • 12 Captains, including six players who have been captains for two or more years
  • 6 Academic All-America Selections (Beaschler, Edwards, Ellis, Hanson, Rush, Schult)
  • 11 Academic All-Conference Athletes
  • 4 All-America picks (Edwards, Hanson, Schult, Sullivan)
  • 9 All-Conference selections (including one all-independent selection)
  • 5 Players Who Have Already Graduated (Crawley, Edwards, Hill, Rush, Terrell), with five more on track to graduate by this December (Beaschler, Ellis, Jones, Schult, Sullivan)
  • 3 Members of Conference Championship Teams (Beaschler, Hanson, Sullivan)
  • 6 Offensive Players (Crawley, Hill, Jones, Rush, Sullivan, Terrell)
  • 6 Defensive Players (Beaschler, Edwards, Ellis, Hanson, Janvion, Schult)

Above: Zach Terrell (Courtesy Western Michigan Athletics)