ASN-Cam Johnson_Russell-North-Dakota
ASN-Cam Johnson_Russell-North-Dakota

Returning nominee Cam Johnson tops Richter Award watchlist

Twenty goalies were named to the Mike Richter Award for the 2016-17 season with North Dakota's Cam Johnson the only finalist from last year on the list again.

The award, given annually to the most outstanding goaltender in Division I hockey, will be announced at the Frozen Four in Chicago. Players are chosen by members of Let's Play Hockey, the longest-running hockey newspaper in the U.S., using past performance and future potential. Freshmen are not included. Past winners include Boston College's Thatcher Demko (2016), North Dakota's Zane McIntyre (2015) and UMass Lowell's Conner Hellebuyck (2014).

The nominees:
In alphabetical order, the goalies on the watch list for the 2017 Mike Richter Award are:

Paul Berrafato#,  Holy Cross Junior

Michael Bitzer,  Bemidji State Junior

Gordon Defiel, Lake Superior State Junior

Parker Gahagen,  Army West Point Senior

Mitch Gillam#, Cornell Junior

Kyle Hayton#, St. Lawrence Junior

Cole Huggins, Minnesota State Senior

Tanner Jaillet, Denver Junior

Cam Johnson*,  North Dakota Junior

Merrick Madsen#, Harvard Junior

Chris Nell#, Bowling Green Junior

Cal Petersen#, Notre Dame Junior

Colton Phinney, Princeton Senior

Ryan Ruck#, Northeastern Sophomore

Eric Schierhorn#, Minnesota Sophomore

Alex Sakellaropoulos, Union Senior

Shane Starrett, Air Force Sophomore

Atte Tolvanen, Northern Michigan Sophomore

Drew Vogler, Merrimack Sophomore

Evan Weninger#, Omaha Sophomore
# — 2016 Mike Richter Award nominee | * —  2016 Mike Richter Award finalist

Above: Cam Johnson courtesy North Dakota Athletics

Share This Story