NFF announces 156 semifinalists for the Campbell Trophy

The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced 156 semifinalists for the 2016 William V. Campbell Trophy recognizing the best football scholar-athlete in the nation.

The 12-14 finalists will be announced on Nov. 1 and each will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6. At that event, one player will be announced as the winner of the trophy and will receive an upgraded scholarship of $25,000.

“These 156 impressive candidates truly represent the scholar-athlete ideal,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton and Eli were named NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “It is important for us to showcase their success on the football field, in the classroom and in the community. This year’s semifinalists further illustrate the power of our great sport in developing the next generation of influential leaders.”

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of eligibility, have a grade-point average of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The nominees include 50 players with a 3.7 GPA or higher, 72 all-conference selections, 13 All-Americans and 41 from the ASN family of schools.

The list of nominees (scroll down for slider bar):


Air Force: Claude Alexander
Austin Peay State: Trey Salisbury
Albion (Mich.): Andrew DiFranco

Arizona State: Matt Haack
Brown: Dakota Girard
Bates (Maine): Mark Upton

Arkansas: Brooks Ellis
Bucknell: Cary Hess
Bethel (Minn.): Drew Neuville

Arkansas State: Jake Swalley
Campbell: Jarrett Ozimek
Bridgewater (Va.): Davey Hardesty

Auburn: Alex Kozan
Charleston Southern: Ben Robinson
Carnegie Mellon (Pa.): Brian Khoury

Ball State: Sam Brunner
Chattanooga: Derrick Craine
Castleton (Vt.): Soren Pelz-Walsh

Boise State: Sean Wale
The Citadel: Will Vanvick
DePauw (Ind.): Will Longthorne

Brigham Young: Taysom Hill
Dayton: Chris Beaschler
Franklin and Marshall (Pa.): Jonathan Naji

Central Florida: Justin Holman
Delaware: Jalen Randolph
Frostburg State (Md.): Isaac Robinson

Central Michigan: Cooper Rush
Delaware State: Ernest Mengoni
Gallaudet (D.C.): Sean Fenton

Colorado: Ryan Severson
Eastern Kentucky: Avery Pitt
Gettysburg (Pa.): Cordell Boggs

Connecticut: Justin Wain
Elon: John Gallagher
Grinnell (Iowa): Ibuki Ogasawara

Duke: DeVon Edwards
Harvard: Max Rich
Hardin-Simmons (Texas): Conlan Aguirre

East Carolina: Zay Jones
Holy Cross: Jake Wieczorek
Hendrix (Ark.): Ethan Hoppe

Eastern Michigan: Cole Gardner
Idaho State: Hayden Stout
Johns Hopkins (Md.): Jack Campbell

Florida: Johnny Townsend
Illinois State: Mark Spelman
Kenyon (Ohio): Joseph Marabito

Florida Atlantic: Dillon DeBoer
Marist: Cameron Gibson
Lake Forest (Ill.): Sam Mulford

Fresno State: Jacob Vazquez
Missouri State: Dylan Cole
Lycoming (Pa.): Austin Mital

Georgia State: Bobby Baker
Morehead State: Pat DiSalvio
Macalester (Minn.): Forest Redlin

Houston: Tyler McCloskey
Murray State: Toby Omli
Maine Maritime: Robert Bradley

Illinois: Joe Spencer
New Hampshire: Casey DeAndrade
Manchester (Ind.): Zach Rudolf

Indiana: Jacob Bailey
North Dakota State: Chase Morlock
Monmouth (Ill.): Matt Barnes

Iowa State: Kane Seeley
Northern Iowa: Karter Schult
Moravian (Pa.): Jalen Snyder-Scipio

Kansas State: Will Davis
Pennsylvania: Nick Demes
Ohio Wesleyan: Mason Tomblin

Kent State: Nick Cuthbert
Princeton: Scott Carpenter
Redlands (Calif.): Patrick Neville

Kentucky: Jon Toth
Robert Morris: Andy Smigiera
Saint John's (Minn.): Carter Hanson

Marshall: Emanuel Byrd
Saint Francis: Lance Geesey
St. John Fisher (N.Y.): Alec Mortillaro

Memphis: Jake Elliott
San Diego: Devyn Bryant
Trinity (Texas): Brad Hood

Miami (Fla.): Justin Vogel
South Dakota State: Nick Mears
Washington & Jefferson (Pa.): Brandon Martuccio

Michigan: Michael Jocz
Stetson: Davion Belk
Wisconsin-Oshkosh: Branden Lloyd

Michigan State: Josiah Price
Towson: Jake Ryder
Wisconsin-Stout: Logan Stoa

Mississippi: Nathan Noble
Western Carolina: Fred Payne
Wisconsin-Whitewater: John Flood

Mississippi State: Richie Brown
Western Illinois: Nathan Knuffman
Wooster (Ohio): Todd Ulmer

Missouri: Sean Culkin
William & Mary: Hunter Windmuller

Navy: Will Worth
Wofford: Nick Colvin

Nebraska: Josh Banderas
Yale: Sebastian Little

North Carolina: Nick Weiler

Morningside (Iowa): Austin Anfinson

North Carolina State: Jack Tocho

Northwestern (Iowa): Craig Bruinsma

North Texas: Fred Scott
Peru State (Neb.): Ryan Zuhlke

Northern Illinois: Drew Hare
Ashland (Ohio): Zach Bernhard
Trinity International (Ill.): Riley Schussler

Ohio State: Joe Burger
Bentley (Mass.): Bryan Hardy

Old Dominion: Tyler Compton
California of Pa.: Ryan McCauley

Oregon: Johnny Ragin III
Central Missouri: Garrett Fugate

Penn State: Tyler Yazujian
Colorado School of Mines: Richie Rice

Pittsburgh: Dontez Ford
Delta State (Miss.): Tyler Sullivan

Purdue: Jake Replogle
Harding (Ark.): Cordell Zalenski

Rice: Darik Dillard
Humboldt State (Calif.): Chase Krivashei

Rutgers: Quanzell Lambert
Kutztown (Pa.): Kellen Williams

San Jose State: Tim Crawley
Malone (Ohio): JC Pawlyk

South Carolina: Perry Orth
Northwest Missouri State: Simon Mathiesen

Southern Mississippi: Cameron Tom
Pittsburg State (Kan.): Deron Washington

Stanford: Dallas Lloyd
Stonehill (Mass.): Anthony Siciliano

Syracuse: Cameron MacPherson
Tarleton State (Texas): Cody Burtscher

Temple: Brendan McGowan
Wayne State (Mich.): Trent Brodbeck

Tennessee: Dylan Wiesman
West Chester (Pa.): Kyle Keyser

Texas Tech: Justis Nelson
Wingate (N.C.): Caleb Baird

Tulsa: Dane Evans

Utah: Hunter Dimick

Utah State: Travis Seefeldt

Virginia: Nicholas Conte

Wake Forest: Ryan Janvion

West Virginia: Tyler Orlosky

Western Kentucky: Marcus Ward

Western Michigan: Zach Terrell

Wisconsin: Vince Biegel

Wyoming: Chase Roullier

• NFF's news release

Share This Story