(Photo by Steve Musco)
(Photo by Steve Musco)

As seen on ASN: Harvard beats Yale, 53-51, for Ivy League title

Harvard advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the fourth consecutive year with a 53-51 victory over Yale in Saturday's Ivy League playoff game televised live on American Sports Network from the Palestra in Philadelphia. Steve Moundou-Missi's  jumper with 7.2 seconds remaining was the game-winner.

It was the third meeting between Harvard (22-7, 12-3 Ivy) and Yale (22-10, 11-4) this season.

Harvard won the first meeting, 52-50 on Feb. 7, and Yale beat Harvard, 62-52, last Friday in a game streamed live on ASN to split their regular-season series. Watch the recap of last Friday's game here.

That put the Bulldogs in the driver's seat for the league title but they lost to Dartmouth, 59-58, last Saturday on a Gabas Maldunas layup off an inbounds pass with 0.5 seconds remaining.

Yale’s loss and a 72-62 victory by Harvard over Brown forced the one-game playoff, the ninth in league history.

The Bulldogs haven’t made the NCAA tournament since 1962.


  • 3: Programs in the country with an active streak of at least five consecutive regular-season championships -- Harvard (5 Ivy League title), Murray State (6 Ohio Valley titles) and Kansas (11 Big 12 titles).

  •  6: Consecutive 20-win seasons for Harvard (22-7), matching Penn (1969-75) for the would becomarlongest streak of 20-win seasons in Ivy League history.

  • 4: Harvard's consecutive NCAA tournament appearances. The Crimson are the first Ivy League team to reach the NCAA Tournament in four consecutive years since Princeton in 1989-92.
    Source: GoCrimson.com


  • 1948-49: Last time the Bulldogs won 22 games overall before this season.

  • 1962: Yale’s last NCAA Tournament appearance; the Bulldogs lost, 92-82, to Wake Forest.

  • 1988: Last time a Yale player won Ivy League player of the year honors (Paul Maley) before junior Justin Sears this season. Sears leads the Bulldogs in scoring (14.4 ppg.), rebounding (7.6 rpg.) and blocked shots (72).
    Source: YaleBulldogs.com


  • 1959: Dartmouth 69, Princeton 68

  • 1963: Princeton 65, Yale 53

  • 1969: Columbia 92, Princeton 74

  • 1980: Penn 50, Princeton 49

  • 1981: Princeton 54, Penn 40

  • 1996: Princeton 63, Penn 56 (OT)

  • 2002: Yale 76, Princeton 60
    Penn 77, Yale 58

  • 2011: Princeton 63, Harvard 62

  • 2015: Harvard 53, Yale 51

Share This Story