Patriot League academic honor roll: Jesse Reed repeats as scholar of the year

American junior Jesse Reed is once again the Corvias Patriot League men’s basketball scholar-athlete of the year.

Reed, who earned third-team All-Patriot League honors on Monday, was joined on the Academic All-Patriot League squad by senior teammate John Schoof, Lafayette seniors Seth Hinrichs and Joey Ptasinski and Loyola University Maryland junior Franz Rassman. Ptasinski becomes the third student-athlete in League history to make three Academic All-Patriot League squads, while Hinrichs and Rassman repeat on the team along with Reed and Schoof previously made the list in 2013.

Reed by the numbers:

3.40: Cumulative grade point average in accounting

14.1: Points per game

5.1: Rebounds

47.2: Field-goal percentage

77.3: Free-throw percentage

Reed is the fifth repeat Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year honoree, and first since Lehigh’s Marquis Hall won the award in 2009 and 2010.

The other honorees:

  • Schoof – 3.3 GPA in business administration/12 ppg/3.1 rpg

  • Hinrichs – 3.4 GPA in economics/13.1 ppg/5.8 rpg/2.7 assists

  • Ptasinski – 3.4 GPA in biology/9.3 ppg

  • Rassman – 3.939 GPA in business administration/8.1 ppg/4.6 rpg

Rassman and Hinrichs both earned Capital One/CoSIDA Academic All-District II recognition.

The Academic All-Patriot League Team honors student-athletes who excel in their sport and the classroom. Sports information directors, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes, select the academic award winners.

To be eligible for the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award and the Academic All-Patriot League Team, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative grade point average and be a starter or key player in his/her sport. Freshmen or students in their first academic year at their school are not eligible for the honor.

The Corvias Patriot League Scholar-Athlete of the Year for each individual sport comprises the pool of nominees for the Corvias Patriot League Male and Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards given out over the summer. One male and one female are selected for this honor.

Corvias Patriot League Men’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jesse Reed, American (Jr.)

Men’s Basketball Academic All-Patriot League Team

Seth Hinrichs, Lafayette (Sr.)

Joey Ptasinski, Lafayette (Sr.)

Jesse Reed, American (Jr.)

Franz Rassman, Loyola Maryland (Jr.)

John Schoof, American (Sr.)

Share This Story