First in class: Stephen Curry headlines SoCon’s 2016 Hall of Famers

The NBA’s reigning MVP, the only two-time winner of the Walter Payton Award and an eight-time PGA Tour winner headline the Southern Conference Hall of Fame Class for 2016, the sixth class of inductees highlighting the SoCon’s 95 years.

Inductees include Stephen Curry (Davidson), Armanti Edwards (Appalachian State), Brad Faxon (Furman), Keith “Mister” Jennings (ETSU) and Karen Pelphrey (Marshall). 

Davidson joined the Atlantic 10 on July 1, 2014, but competed in the Southern Conference for 74 years, including Curry’s career (2006-09).

“This year’s group of inductees is one of the most impressive since the hall’s inaugural class of 2009,” said SoCon Commissioner John Iamarino. “It features not only the current MVP of the NBA, but two other former SoCon basketball Players of the Year, one of the winningest quarterbacks in NCAA history, and a former collegiate golfer of the year who went on to win multiple PGA events. It is a remarkable group.”

  • Curry (Davidson (2006-09) finished as the SoCon’s all-time leading scorer with 2,635 points. He holds the SoCon career records for 3-pointers (414) and set an NCAA record with 162 in 2008. He helped the Wildcats advance to the Elite Eight in 2008 and led Davidson to a record of 85-20, including 55-3 in league play. The seventh overall pick by Golden State in the 2009 NBA Draft, Curry led the Warriors to their first NBA championship in 40 years last season and was named the league’s MVP.

  • Edwards (Appalachian State 2006-09) is the only player to be a two-time winner of the Walter Payton Award, presented to the top offensive player in the FCS. He finished his career with 13 Southern Conference records. The Mountaineers finished 49-9 during Edwards’ four years on the team and he was under center for two national championships (2006, 2007) and arguably the greatest upset in college football history as Appalachian State topped No. 5 Michigan (34-32) to start the 2007 season.

  • Faxon (Furman 1979-83), a two-time All-American, Brad Faxon was the 1983 SoCon medalist at the league’s championship and was named the 1983 South Carolina Male Amateur Athlete of the Year He qualified for the NCAA tournament three times and recorded a third-place finish in 1983 and a fifth-place finish the following year. He still holds Furman’s career low stroke average (71.78). He joined the PGA Tour in 1983 and has won eight tournaments. He was a member of the U.S. Walker Cup team in 1983 and Ryder Cup teams in 1995 and 1997. 

  • Jennings (ETSU 1987-91) led the Buccaneers to two Southern Conference regular-season titles and three league tournament championships. A two-time SoCon Player of the Year (1990, 1991), his 793 assists rank fifth all-time in NCAA history. He played professionally for 13 years and serves as an assistant coach at Lees-McRae College.

  • Pelphrey (Marshall 1983-86), a three-time All-Southern Conference first-team selection was the 1986 Player of the Year. She garnered second-team All-America honors as a sophomore and junior and was named to the first team as a senior. Pelphrey helped the Thundering Herd win the SoCon’s regular-season crown in 1985 and 1986. She finished her career with 2,163 career points in the Southern Conference, which at the time was a league record and now stands as the fourth-highest total on league history.

Photo courtesy of Southern Conference

Share This Story