Faulk, Leinart, Manning, Spurrier headline Hall of Fame Class of 2017

The Ol' Ball Coach can hang his visor on another career achievement.

Steve Spurrier became the fourth person to make the College Football Hall of Fame as a player and a coach, joining Bobby Dodd, Amos Alonzo Stagg and Bowden Wyatt.

Spurrier, who won the Hiesman Trophy as quarterback at Florida in 1966 and coached the Gators to their first national championship in 1996, headlines the 13-member Class of 2017, announced Monday by the National Football Foundation.

He joins 10 players — including Marshall Faulk, Matt Leinart and Peyton Manning — and two other coaches. They were selected from the national ballot of 75 All-America players and six elite coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and the 95 players and 29 coaches from the divisional ranks.

Spurrier compiled a 228-89-2 career record during 26 years at Duke (20–13–1 in 1987-89), Florida (122–27–1 in 1990-2001) and South Carolina (86–49 in 2005-15). He and Paul "Bear" Bryant (Kentucky and Alabama) are the only coaches with the most wins at two SEC schools.

Faulk, who rushed for 4,589 yards at San Diego State from 1991-93, was a a two-time Heisman finalist. In his first start for the Aztecs, Faulk rushed for 386 yards to set what was then the NCAA record.

Leinart won the 2004 Heisman Trophy while guiding Southern California to consecutive national championships. The Trojans lost two games in his three years (37-2). Leinart set Pac-10 records for career (99) and single-season (38) touchdowns, career completion percentage (.648) and consecutive passes without an interception (212).

Manning, the 1997 Heisman Trophy runner-up, set several records at Tennessee from 1994-97, including wins by a starting quarterback (39), passing yards (11,201) and touchdown passes (89).

The other Class of 2017 members:


  • Bob Crable, LB, Notre Dame (1978-81): Holds the school records for career (521), single-season (187) and single-game (26) tackles. In the 1979 Cotton Bowl, he recovered a fumble that led to a touchdown and a comeback victory over Houston in the famous Joe Montana “Chicken Soup” game.
  • Brian Urlacher, DB, New Mexico (1996-99): The first Lobos player or coach to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Set a single-season school record with 178 tackles in 1998, which led the nation.
  • Kirk Gibson, WR, Michigan State (1975-78): Finished his career as the school’s all-time leading receiver and still holds the school record with 21.0 yards per catch.
  • Bob McKay, OT, Texas (1968-69): Paved the way for 1969 national champions that led FBS in rushing (363 yards per game) and scoring (33.8 points per game). Dat Nguyen, LB, Texas A&M (1995-98): The only player in school history to lead the team in tackles four consecutive seasons. He still holds the school record with 517 career tackles.
  • Adrian Peterson, RB, Georgia Southern (1998-2001): The all-time leading rusher in Division I regular-season history with 6,559 yards. He's the only sophomore to win the Walter Payton Award as the FCS Player of the Year.
  • Mike Ruth, NG, Boston College (1982-85): Anchored defense that led the Eagles to three bowl games, including a win in the 1985 Cotton Bowl against Houston.


  • Danny Ford, Clemson (1978-89) and Arkansas (1993-97): The youngest coach in college football history to win a national championship. He was 33 when he led Clemson to a 12-0 season in 1981 and finished with a career record of 122-59-5.
  • Larry Kehres, Mount Union (1986-2012): Created a Division III dynasty. With a 332-24-3 career record, he boasts the highest winning percentage (.929) in college football history. Also owns the most national titles (11), most conference titles (23) and most unbeaten regular seasons (21) of any college football coach.

The 10 players and three coaches will be inducted on Dec. 5 during the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York.

Share This Story