Brooks, McInally, Woodson, Cunningham headline 2016 Hall of Fame inductees

Derrick Brooks, Rod Woodson, Pat McInally and Randall Cunningham headline the 2016 National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame class announced Friday in Phoenix ahead of Tuesday's FBS national championship game between Alabama and Clemson.

Fourteen players and two coaches will be inducted into the hall in December. Cunningham, who played for UNLV from 1982-84, and McInally, who played for Harvard from 1972-74, attended the announcement while Brooks and Woodson called in to the announcement. Bert Jones (LSU 1970-72), McInally and Woodson will represent the new class at events surrounding the national championship game.

“The College Football Playoff National Championship weekend provides a great opportunity to shine a spotlight on the student-athletes and coaches who are being chosen for this great honor by the National Football Foundation,” said College Football Playoff Executive Director Bill Hancock. “We are pleased that the National Football Foundation and the College Football Hall of Fame are showcasing some of the game’s outstanding individuals as part of the national championship festivities. We believe fans will be excited to share in the history of the game.”

The complete class includes:


  • Marlin Briscoe: QB, Nebraska (1964-67)

  • Derrick Brooks: LB, Florida State (1991-94)

  • Tom Cousineau: LB, Ohio State (1975-78)

  • Randall Cunningham: P/QB, UNLV (1982-84)

  • Troy Davis: TB, Iowa State (1994-96)

  • William Fuller: DT, North Carolina (1981-83)

  • Bert Jones: QB, LSU (1970-72)

  • Tim Krumrie: DL, Wisconsin (1979-82)

  • Pat McInally: TE, Harvard (1972-74)

  • Herb Orvis: DE, Colorado (1969-71)

  • Bill Royce: LB, Ashland (Ohio) (1990-93)

  • Mike Utley: OG, Washington State (1985-88)

  • Scott Woerner: DB, Georgia (1977-80)

  • Rod Woodson: DB, Purdue (1983-86)


  • Bill Bowes: 175-106-5 (62.1%); New Hampshire (1972-98)

  • Frank Girardi: 257-97-5 (72.3%); Lycoming (Pa.) (1972-2007)

Above: Randall Cunningham and Pat McInally speak to the media after being announced as the newest members of the NFF and College Football Hall of Fame. (Ed Grom/ASN)

Share This Story