VOTE | Who's your choice to win C-USA's East Division?

[caption id="attachment_3237" align="alignright" width="150"] ASN’S FIRST-AND-10: A first look at 10 things to know about the 2016 college football season.[/caption]

With the return of two record-setting freshman, Middle Tennessee is the media's choice to win Conference USA's East Division title.

The Blue Raiders, who finished second to Western Kentucky last season, feature quarterback Brent Stockstill and wide receiver Richie James. The sophomores are two of MTSU's 13 returning starter.

Stockstill, C-USA's Freshman of the Year, set a league record for passing yards by a freshman (4,005) and led the nation’s rookies in yards and TD passes (30).

James had 108 receptions last year, a new Middle Tennessee record and the fourth-most in a single season in C-USA history. The Freshman All-American posted 1,346 receiving yards, fifth-best in C-USA annals.

Defending conference champion WKU, led by senior WR Taywan Taylor (1,467 receiving yards and school records with 86 receptions and 17 TD catches) was picked second in the East, followed by Marshall and junior TE Ryan Yuracek, who led the nation’s tight ends in TD receptions with 10.

Rounding out the picks were Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Old Dominion and Charlotte.

The media has spoken. Now it's your turn to vote.

[poll id="73"]
• 5 things we learned about C-USA's East Division

Above: As a freshman last season, Middle Tennessee's Brent Stockstill passed for 4,005 yards, 30 TDs last season and Set FBS record by a freshman with 327 completions last season. (Courtesy MT Athletic Communications)

Share This Story