2015_Big_South_ HOF
2015_Big_South_ HOF

Big South announces 2015 hall of fame inductees

Former UNC Asheville men’s basketball coach Eddie Biedenbach, former Coastal Carolina softball coach Jess Dannelly, former Campbell men’s soccer player David Doyle and former Radford women’s soccer player Sue Williams were announced as the 2015 Big  South hall of fame inductees.

They will be enshrined on May 28 during a special ceremony as part of the Big South’s annual spring meetings in Hilton Head  Island, SC.

Biedenbach is the Big South’s all-time winningest men’s basketball coach with 256 overall victories as well as the all-time leader with 156 Big South wins.  Now the third men’s basketball head coach to be enshrined in the Conference’s Hall of Fame, Biedenbach was 20-14 all-time in the Big South Tournament, the most wins by any coach.  UNC Asheville advanced to the Big South Tournament semifinals 12 times under Biedenbach, and reached the Championship game six times. He is the only coach in league history with two NCAA Tournament wins.

Dannelly retired as the Big South’s all-time winningest softball coach with 669 victories (now second) and finished his coaching career ranked as the 44th winningest coach in NCAA history.  He was the Conference’s all-time leader in Big South wins with 185 until this past March, and recorded a 48-36 record in the Big South Championship with five titles -- most in Big South history.  Dannelly’s squads also won six regular-season crowns.  He was part of the Southeast Regional Coaching Staff of the Year in 2000 and directed Coastal to 12 Big South Championship game appearances.  Dannelly led Coastal to four NCAA Tournament appearances (1998-00-01-06), the most by any Big South softball coach, and the Chanticleers also earned an at-large appearance in the 1992 National Invitation Championship in Macomb, Ill. -- the League’s first-ever postseason appearance.

Doyle was Campbell’s first Division I men’s soccer All-American and the second in Big South history in 1986 after leading the Big South and nation in scoring as a senior with 34 goals and six assists for 74 points.  A two-time Big South All-Conference pick in 1985 and 1986, Doyle was a three-time Big South All-Tournament Team member (1984, 1985, 1986).  He led the Camels to the 1984 and 1985 Big South Regular-Season and Tournament championships, and a Tournament Runner-Up finish in 1986.  He ended his career ranked among the top 25 scorers all-time in NCAA Division I history with 72 goals in 75 games, with 163 points (72 goals, 19 assists) -- tops among all Campbell players at the Division I level (since 1977).

Despite playing just one season of League competition -- 1993 was the first year of Big South women’s soccer -- Williams is the only single-season player to rank in career categories as she holds the League record for assists per game (1.00) and tied for 15th in total assists (19).  The inaugural Big South Women’s Soccer Player of the Year in 1993, Williams was the Big South’s first-ever Women’s Soccer All-American that season.  She was a finalist for the Hermann Trophy in 1993 -- the Big South’s lone finalist for National Player of the Year.  In 1993, Williams led the Big South in scoring with 55 points, which was second in the NCAA, tied for the League lead with 19 assists and was second in goals with 18.  She still owns the League record for highest single-season average for assists per game (1.00), assists (tied with 19) and points per game (2.89).  Her single-season points and goals scored rank second and sixth, respectively, in the Conference record book.

The Hall of Fame was created in 2003 as part of the League’s 20th Anniversary celebration, and now totals 57 former Big South Conference student-athletes, coaches, administrators and contributors with the addition of this year’s class.

Share This Story